Special Education


CCA Special Education DepartmentTop of Page

Please reference the SDUHSD Special Education Strategic Plan for a broad outline of the structure of the special education program.
 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
 
What is a support class?
Support classes are courses in a student's schedule based on their IEP needs and goals. Support classes address curriculum such as skill building in English, mathematics and organization.

What is the difference between a case manager and a support class teacher?
A support class teacher has students from one grade level enrolled in the course and is the teacher of record for that period, responsible for that course's grade, etc. A case manager has a caseload of students assigned to them, and manages those students' IEPs. Staff at CCA serve in both capacities.

Who do I contact if my special education student is struggling in a class?
Your first contact should always be your case manager. They are most familiar with your IEP, goals, and needs. Their role is also to support facilitation among other CCA staff to support your success.

FacultyTop of Page

Brittan, Gillian Gillian.Brittan@sduhsd.net
Guinter, Dorothy
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Magin, Melissa Melissa.Magin@sduhsd.net
Minnick, Mike Michael.Minnick@sduhsd.net
Ramirez, Jennifer Jennifer.Ramirez@sduhsd.net
Reeve, Meredith
Meredith.Reeve@sduhsd.net
Shoecraft, Katherine Katherine.Shoecraft@sduhsd.net
Zuniga, Angela
Angela.Zuniga@sduhsd.net

Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net