Welcome to Canyon Crest Academy Special Education DepartmentTop of Page

FacultyTop of Page

Brittan, Gillian Gillian.Brittan@sduhsd.net
Guinter, Dorothy
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Magin, Melissa Melissa.Magin@sduhsd.net
Minnick, Mike Michael.Minnick@sduhsd.net
Ramirez, Jennifer Jennifer.Ramirez@sduhsd.net
Shoecraft, Katherine Katherine.Shoecraft@sduhsd.net
Seebruch, Julie Julie.Seebruch@sduhsd.net
Zuniga, Angela
Angela.Zuniga@sduhsd.net

Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Dorothy.Guinter@sduhsd.net
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) -coming soon-

What is a support class?
Support classes are courses in a student's schedule based on their IEP needs and goals. These classes address curriculum such as skill building in English, mathematics and organization. They are arranged by grade level to focus on grade level specific needs - such as CAHSEE (CA High School Exit Exam) preparation in grade 10.

What is the difference between a case manager and a support class teacher?
A support class teacher has students from one grade level enrolled in the course and is the teacher of record for that period, responsibile for that course's grade, etc. A case manager has a caseload of students assigned to them, and manages those students' IEPs. Staff at CCA serve in both capacities.

Who do I contact if my special education student is struggling in a class?

Your first contact should always be your case manager. They are most familiar with your IEP, goals, and needs. Their role is also to support facilitation among other CCA staff to support your success.